Enjoying Friday’s Bounty

Posted on

Last Friday I wrote about picking strawberries, and visiting the hospital market where I found garlic scapes and rhubarb. These fresh fruits and veggies will be part of tonight’s dinner. Two dishes, one made Saturday and one made this morning.

Garlic scapes. Never knew what they were until last year in the CSA. These are from Love Dove Farm. I bought four bundles, enough to make a double batch of pesto.

If you look closely, you can see the bulging area where a flower would emerge, if left on the plant. The farmers remove this scape, in order to force the plant to devote energy into growing the root, or the heads of garlic. Not removing the scape will inhibit the growth of the heads of garlic. These curling plants have a more delicate flavor than garlic cloves but they still pack a big punch when whirled up in the blender with parmesan, pine nuts, olive oil and salt.

I made enough to freeze some in small containers, and put a large container covered in olive oil in the fridge. It will be served tonight with pasta as a side to some tomato braised ahi, which will be slow cooked in the oven later today.

The small containers were coated lightly with oil, sealed and put in a bag to go in the freezer. The large one more heavily coated as it will be in the fridge a few days. Besides tonight, I will be making bruschetta this weekend using the ends of the Atwater’s rosemary Italian bread. I don’t always follow recipes. I cook by taste, but this was 24 scapes, about a cup of Parm, a half cup of pine nuts, salt to taste, and oil streamed in until it reached the consistency I wanted.

As for dessert tonight, it will be the strawberry rhubarb crisp I made over the weekend. Using the Larriland strawberries and rhubarb from Falcon Ridge Farm, bought at the hospital market, I made a simple crisp. The juicy strawberries made this crisp moister than the rhubarb crumble I made a week ago.

We had some Sunday night and will slice off some more tonight. If I look back at my plans, I didn’t do either thing I said I would in my Saturday post. The chicken was made with a fruit salsa, and I made the crisp instead of a compote. I tend to cook on impulse, so planning sometimes goes for nothing. I didn’t get around to doing the pesto until today.

I also did get the strawberry ice cubes popped out and packaged for use later in the summer. These little nuggets will find their way into vinaigrettes, sangrias, wine coolers, and compotes.

Can’t wait to see what we get in the CSA box Thursday. I did use up almost everything except the kale. I do want to make kale chips. Let’s see if I find the time to do so. Check out this week’s goodies at the markets and make something fresh and seasonal this weekend.

hocofood@@@

About AnnieRie

Retired, I am following my dream of living in quiet west Howard County, a rural oasis, not far from the urban chaos, but just far enough. I love to cook, bake, garden, and travel. I volunteer at Howard County Conservancy. I lead nature hikes, manage programs and show children all the wonders of nature, and the agricultural connection to their food.

7 responses »

  1. Yum! Looks delicious. We opened the last of our frozen pesto containers tonight from the basil bounty of last summer. I’m looking forward to our first CSA delivery – I know there will be scapes, and I will surely be making pesto from!

    Reply
    • Yum! Looks delicious. We opened the last of our frozen pesto containers tonight from the basil bounty of last summer. I’m looking forward to our first CSA delivery – I know there will be scapes, and I will surely be making pesto from it!

      Reply
  2. Lots of great ideas. I love to experiment with different types of pesto.

    Reply
  3. Barbara Wright

    such fun following your “world”

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Harvesting Garlic Scapes | The Soffritto

  5. I have made kale chips before, and they are good, but with all the beautiful produce coming right now from the CSA, I am not interested in kale. So I decided to blanch it as soon as I get it home; 30 seconds then to ice water; sqeeze the water out and freeze in tiny freezer bags. The huge bunch of kale shrinks to a tiny package that I will appreciate more in the winter for soups, stews and pasta. I may even decide to use it in a smoothie before that.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: CSA Inspiration | AnnieRie Unplugged

Leave a comment