This is Winter?

Posted on

Really. Today it hit 67 degrees. Yesterday 64 degrees. Where is winter? But, I am not complaining. We fired up the grill yesterday.

In the spirit of Dark Days, the potatoes were CSA. The merquez lamb sausage was from Whitmore Farm in Emmitsburg MD, bought at The Common Market. I did deviate a bit with naan from Wegman’s and olive bar Mediterranean salad. Still main part of the meal was local.

Monday night I did an omelet. All local with the exception of the parmesan sprinkled on top at the end and a few Nicoise olives from Wegman’s. CSA eggs, PA mushrooms, chard, collard and beet greens, CSA and Silver Spring Market. Onion from CSA. South Mountain Creamery baby Swiss cheese. A splash of South Mountain whole milk in the egg mixture.

As for tonight, Wednesday, heated up leftovers from Sunday night’s Dark Days meal. Three days down, most dinners local.

About AnnieRie

Retired, I am following my dream of living in quiet west Howard County, a rural oasis, not far from the urban chaos, but just far enough. I love to cook, bake, garden, and travel. I volunteer at Howard County Conservancy. I lead nature hikes, manage programs and show children all the wonders of nature, and the agricultural connection to their food.

3 responses »

  1. So awesome! This weather is something, isn’t it?
    I should have some South Mountain swiss tomorrow…..

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Finishing Out a Dark Days Week with Sweets « AnnieRie Unplugged

  3. Pingback: Dark Days: It’s a Sweet Sweet Thing – in the EAST « Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a comment